MorphoBank is currently funded by a Sustaining Award (DBI-1457925) from the National Science Foundation's Advances in Biological Informatics program. MorphoBank version 1 was funded by National Science Foundation grant DEB-9903964 to Maureen O'Leary and with financial assistance from the American Museum of Natural History. MorphoBank version 2 was funded by NOAA (NA04OAR4700191). MorphoBank 2.5 and later versions developed in 2008-09 were funded by a National Science Foundation award from the Division of Earth Sciences (EAR-0622359).
MorphoBank in the News »          More on MorphoBank »

Executive Committee

Faysal Bibi, Museum für Naturkunde Berlin
Leonardo Borges, Federal University of São Carlos
Juan Carillo, Muséum national d'Histoire naturelle
Mark Collard, Simon Fraser University
Michael D'Emic, Adelphi University
Tim Dickinson, Royal Ontario Museum
Greg Edgecombe, Natural History Museum London
Fabiany Herrera, Chicago Botanical Garden
Robert Hill, Hofstra University

Matrix Curator: Ana Andruchow Colombo, Museo Paleontológico Egidio Feruglio
Melanie Hopkins, American Museum of Natural History
Adriana Lopez Arbarello, Ludwig-Maximilians-University of Munich
Marcos Mirande, Fundación Miguel Lillo · Unidad Ejecutora Lillo (UEL) -
Xijun Ni, Institute of Vertebrate Paleontology and Paleoanthropology Chinese Academy of Sciences
Mary Silcox, University of Toronto
Martin Smith, Durham University, United Kingdom
Jo Wolfe, Harvard University

Executive Committee: 2001-2018

Chair: Nancy Simmons, American Museum of Natural History

Peter Crane, Kew Gardens
Gonzalo Giribet, Harvard University
Michael Novacek, American Museum of Natural History
Dennis Stevenson, New York Botanical Garden

Project Director: Maureen O'Leary, Stony Brook University
Deputy Director for science: Mariangeles Arce H., Academy of Natural Sciences of Drexel University
Marvalee Wake, University of California at Berkeley
Edward O. Wilson, Harvard University
Jo Wolfe, American Museum of Natural History
Sharon Doyle (student representative), Stony Brook University

NSF sponsored workshop participants, 2001

Jonathan Adrain, University of Iowa
William Bemis, University of Massachusetts
Meredith Blackwell, Louisiana State University
Mark Boguski, Johns Hopkins University
Janine Caira, University of Connecticut
Jim Carpenter, American Museum of Natural History
Jonathan Coddington, Smithsonian Institution
Alfonso Delgado, Universidad Nacional Autonoma de Mexico
William Fink, University of Michigan
Kristian Fauchald, Smithsonian Institution
Darlene Judd, Oregon State University
Seth Kaufman, Whirl-i-Gig
Maureen Kearney, Field Museum
John Kress, Smithsonian Institution
Denis Lynn, University of Guelph
Paula Mabee, University of South Dakota
Lucinda McDade, Academy of Natural Sciences
Paula Mikkelsen, American Museum of Natural History
Kevin Nixon, Cornell University
Maureen O'Leary, Stony Brook University
Lynne Parenti, Smithsonian Institution
Norman Platnick, American Museum of Natural History
Kathlene Pryer, Duke University
Tim Rowe, University of Texas
Petra Sierwald, Field Museum
Mark Siddall, American Museum of Natural History
John Van Couvering, American Museum of Natural History
Mike Whiting, Brigham Young University
Jim Woolley, Texas A & M University


NIH Treebase CIPRes Mesquite Project Morphbank Project


nescent NOAA NSF
AMNH Stony Brook Phoenix Bioinformatics

This website was prepared by the MorphoBank project, in part, under an award from the National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration, U.S. Department of Commerce. The statements, finding, conclusions, and recommendations are those of the authors and do not necessarily reflect the views of the National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration or the Department of Commerce.